By Steve Kovacs (Introduction by Chuck Gibson)

LOVELAND, OH (April 19, 2021) – In Issue 2021-74 of Steve Kovacs Fun with Maps, we learn about one of the youngest European countries


Brussels is not only the capital of Belgium but of the European Union.

By European standards, Belgium is a rather new country, recognized as such in 1839 on this day as an outcome of the Treaty of London.  Previously it was mostly part of the Netherlands.

The northern part is the Dutch speaking Flemish Region, and the southern part is the French speaking Walloon Region.  Most people of course speak a few more languages.

This is a wonderful country with many picturesque towns including Bruges, Ghent, and Spa.

Here is Teesdale’s 1831 map of the Netherlands as it was prior the southern portion being declared to be the new country of Belgium.

Map of Netherlands before Belgium was recognized – 1831 (Credit Steve Kovacs)

Steve Kovacs and his wife Theresa reside in Loveland, Ohio where they raised their two children. He is a passionate collector of antique maps.

Visit his antique map boutique world-on-paper online. Watch for his daily feature Steve Kovacs: Antique Maps & Fun Facts here on Loveland Beacon.