By Steve Kovacs (Introduction by Chuck Gibson)

LOVELAND, OH (September 10, 2021) – In Issue 2021-175 of Steve Kovacs Fun with Maps, we re-visit the forming of a new Republic.


The Treaty of St. Germain-en-Laye was signed on September 10, 1919 by the Allies of World War I and the Republic of German-Austria.

It dissolved the Austro-Hungarian Empire and created the Republic of Austria, as well as recognizing the independence of Hungary, Poland, Czechoslovakia, and the Kingdom of Slovenes, Croats, and Serbs.  As is often the case, the new boundaries left many people stranded in a new country not of their own choosing.

The Austrian state, which had been held together by the Habsburgs for over 700 years, lost more than 60% of their territory in Europe and their only overseas possession.

The Habsburgs line is still in existence, although their claim to the throne is now defunct.  Karl von Habsburg, an Austrian politician who represented his country in the European Parliament, is the current head of the House of Habsburg-Lorraine.

Here a map of the Austro-Hungarian Empire at its zenith from 1898 by Rand-McNally.

Austro-Hungarian Empire -1898 (Credit Steve Kovacs)

Steve Kovacs and his wife Theresa reside in Loveland, Ohio where they raised their two children. He is a passionate collector of antique maps.

Visit his antique map boutique world-on-paper online. Watch for his daily feature Steve Kovacs: Antique Maps & Fun Facts here on Loveland Beacon.