FUN WITH MAPS ISSUE 2024-170
By Steve Kovacs (Introduction by Chuck Gibson)
LOVELAND, OH (September 10, 2024) – In this edition of Fun with Maps we look back at some history of immigration to the United States.
COMING to AMERICA
From 1892 through 1954 twelve million immigrants entered the US through Ellis Island, situated in New York harbor.
It reopened as a National Monument, partnering with the nearby Statue of Liberty, on September 10, 1990.
So how did the immigration officers process the new arrivals? That varied from 1892 to 1924 period to World War II and to the facilities closure.
A physical exam was always the first step, and that was typically conducted preliminarily on the ship and included vaccinations. Those who had serious health issues were either hospitalized or shipped back to the port of departure.
Next came questioning by an inspector, through an interpreter, at the Registry. This was to determine nationality, name, age, family situation, literacy in own language, amount of money held, criminal record and morality before entry was granted. Unaccompanied women and prostitutes were rejected, but these were only part of the few dozed reasons why someone might have been rejected. This inspector also had the power to change your name – make it more American like if needed to be.
All in all, only about 1% on immigrants were turned away through 1924. In that year an immigrant quota system was introduced, significantly reducing the rate of immigration. After that less entered and focus switched to rejecting communists and the like.
The New York area is shown in this map by Beers from 1869.
Greater New York City – Circa 1869 (Credit Steve Kovacs)
Steve Kovacs and his wife Theresa reside in Loveland, Ohio where they raised their two children. He is a passionate collector of antique maps.
Visit his antique map boutique world-on-paper online. Watch for his daily feature Steve Kovacs: Fun with Maps here on Loveland Beacon.