By Steve Kovacs (Introduction by Chuck Gibson)

LOVELAND, OH (September 1, 2021) – In Issue 2021-168 of Steve Kovacs Fun with Maps, we go sight-seeing up north.


Alberta and Saskatchewan became the 8th and 9th Canadian provinces on September 1, 1905.

The two territories were carved out of the original Northwest Territory, an area familiar to the Hudson Bay fur traders and home to many of Canada’s indigenous peoples.

While Saskatchewan is mainly an agricultural-based economy, Alberta is tourist-oriented.  The beauty of the Rocky Mountains in Banff, the fun of the Calgary Rodeo, and the dinosaur fossils outside Edmonton make great sight-seeing attractions as you get to know our Northern neighbors.

Here is Canada prior to these two provinces formally being established – Rand McNally’s 1898 map of Canada, also known as British America in those days.

Map of Canada from 1898 (Credit Steve Kovacs)

Steve Kovacs and his wife Theresa reside in Loveland, Ohio where they raised their two children. He is a passionate collector of antique maps.

Visit his antique map boutique world-on-paper online. Watch for his daily feature Steve Kovacs: Antique Maps & Fun Facts here on Loveland Beacon.