By Steve Kovacs (Introduction by Chuck Gibson)

LOVELAND, OH (November 7, 2023) – Today’s “Election Day” edition of Fun with Maps marks a historic date in Communist Chinese history.

The Other China

The Chinese Soviet Republic (CSR) was a short-lived state within China, declared on November 7, 1931 by Chinese Communist leader, Mao Zedong.

The area included 18 provinces and 4 counties, governed by Mao.

It came to an end in 1937, losing to the National Revolutionary Army.  Although the state was ultimately a failure, the attempt of workers and common people in control was a novel idea in China’s long history.

Mao became the ultimate leader for all of China in 1949.  The People’s Republic of China has been controlled by the Chinese Communist Party ever since.

This map of China by Colton from 1865 is without Tibet being part of China.  The non-contiguous provinces of the CSR were spread across central and eastern China. 

China – Circa 1865 (Credit Steve Kovacs)

Steve Kovacs and his wife Theresa reside in Loveland, Ohio where they raised their two children. He is a passionate collector of antique maps.

Visit his antique map boutique world-on-paper online. Watch for his daily feature Steve Kovacs: Fun with Maps here on Loveland Beacon.