By Steve Kovacs (Introduction by Chuck Gibson)

LOVELAND, OH (May 07, 2021) – In Issue 2021-88 of Steve Kovacs Fun with Maps, we celebrate the introduction of the Indiana Territory in 1800.


The western portion of the Northwest Territories became the Indiana Territory in 1800 on this day.  Aside from today’s Indiana it included Illinois, Wisconsin, western Michigan, a small strip of Ohio and northeast Minnesota.

This new territory was very sparsely populated by Westerners, only 2632 recorded in 1800.  Vincennes was named as its capital.

With the rapid westward expansion of the US, boundaries were redrawn frequently, and the Indiana Territory started losing its land, starting with Michigan in 1805.  Indiana became the 19th state admitted to the Union in 1816. 

The term “Hoosier” first appeared in 1833; thus, those from Michigan, etc. need not worry that they might have been Hoosiers at a point in time.

Here is a testament to the rapid growth of Indiana:  this map of the state from 1842 shows most counties have been formed already and many towns and cities have been established.   It is by Greenleaf.

Indiana Map – 1842 (Credit Steve Kovacs)

Steve Kovacs and his wife Theresa reside in Loveland, Ohio where they raised their two children. He is a passionate collector of antique maps.

Visit his antique map boutique world-on-paper online. Watch for his daily feature Steve Kovacs: Antique Maps & Fun Facts here on Loveland Beacon.