By Steve Kovacs (Introduction by Chuck Gibson)

LOVELAND, OH (June 12, 2024) – In this edition of Fun with Maps we revisit a dual country empire once the second largest geographically in Europe.


The Austro-Hungarian Empire was formed in 1867 and lasted until 1918.  The separate states of Austria and Hungary were united under one monarch in a military and diplomatic alliance.

At the time, Austria-Hungary was the second largest country in Europe in area and the third largest in population.  Its two capitals were Vienna and Budapest.  Although the area was considered one country, people could only be a citizen of Austria or Hungary; it did not allow for dual citizenship.  In fact, 13 different nationalities and ethnic groups made up its citizens.  Many of those nationalities have currently been restored as their own country, like Serbia, Croatia, and Bosnia.

Austria-Hungary was the first country to declare war in what became World War I.  It fought as one of the Central Powers and was closely aligned with Germany.  At the end of World War 1, the empire was divided into the Republic of Austria and the Hungarian Democratic Republic, eventually the Kingdom of Hungary.

Here is Cram’s map of the Empire from 1883.

Austria-Hungary (Austro-Hungarian Empire) – Circa 1883 (Credit Steve Kovacs)

Steve Kovacs and his wife Theresa reside in Loveland, Ohio where they raised their two children. He is a passionate collector of antique maps.

Visit his antique map boutique world-on-paper online. Watch for his daily feature Steve Kovacs: Fun with Maps here on Loveland Beacon.